The Gold Standard of Great Coaching

It’s true. Finding a coach who knows the craft and who “gets” you is key. But that’s not the main ingredient in a great coaching relationship.

This week I got a letter from one of my favorite clients. Like most of the spectacular human beings I work with, Jane seeks balance, satisfaction and contribution in her remaining decades on the planet. And for her, the focus includes her husband, their sailboat and some world travel. Now here’s the big hint about what I see as the Gold-Standard in a coaching relationship. Notice the number of times Jane uses the words I, my and me:

Hi Patty,
I want to share with you that I entered the next chapter of my life last week when I gave my resignation notice to my boss. I did it my way, with strength, courage, grace and conviction (and God’s help!). When I packed my lunch that morning, I had no idea that by 9:00 a.m. I would have resigned from the company for which I have worked for the last 13 years. So…thank you for the time that you spent working with me to prepare for that moment. I feel genuine, whole and liberated…My passion, courage and spirit of adventure were uncontained and clearly part of my being. My boss, who has the habit of firing people the day after they resign…told me to stay as long as I wished to do so.

So…to you, my gratitude runs deep. I’ll keep in touch as we careen toward casting off!

Did you see it? Jane is very clear about who is responsible for this tipping point in her life. The key to Jane’s delight is her powerful clarity about her own work and vision and courage. She’s worked hard and she (plus God) gets all the credit. And she demonstrated to me for the umpteenth time that when I pick clients who are this ready to work on their lives and on the key decisions of:
·         What they will leave behind,
·         What they will keep and
·         What they will create,

I get to experience the Gold Standard of Great Coaching every time.

I love my job.

About SeattleCoach

I'm a leadership coach for talented people and their systems. And I train some of them to be coaches. Working with me, you can count on creativity, curiosity, humor, optimism and challenge. Our key ingredients are your growing awareness, your willingness to try things, and our relationship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment